Sign-up For Our Newsletter!


Russia, officially the Russian Federation, became an independent country after the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991.  The largest country in the world covers two continents and 11 time zones.  It has a diverse population with more than 120 ethnic groups.

Coat of Arms

National Animal


National Flower


Products and Posts About Russia


Pysanky: Ukrainian Easter Eggs

By Julie Yeros | March 26, 2018

What are Pysanky? Pysanky are Easter eggs, decorated with traditional Ukrainian folk art using a wax-resist method. Its name comes from the word “pysaty,” which means “to write.” Pysanka (PIH-san-kah) is the singular form, and pysanky (pih-san-KIH) is the plural form. The designs are created with a kistka, a special stylus that holds liquid wax. The wax is applied to the egg,…

Orthodox Easter Traditions

Orthodox Easter Traditions

By Julie Yeros | April 24, 2016

Orthodox Christians in Greece, Russia, Bulgaria, Ukraine, and other countries around the world are preparing to celebrate Orthodox Easter, or Pascha. Church services, decorating eggs, playing games and eating traditional foods are typical parts of the celebration. Orthodox Easter: The Date The Orthodox church uses the Julian calendar for determining Easter (compared to Western churches using the Gregorian calendar), which…


Maslenitsa – Pancake Week in Russia

By Julie Yeros | March 7, 2016

Maslenitsa, a traditional Slavic festival, takes place during the last week before the start of the Orthodox Lent season and marks the end of winter.  Maslenitsa is also known as “Butter Week” (“maslo” is the Russian word for butter) and “Pancake Week”  (their round shape symbolizes the sun).  Lots and lots of pancakes are eaten during this week! Blini, thin Russian…